You are here


Available in:

This Portal has been developed by the Social Development Division of ECLAC in accordance with the agreements of the Regional Conference on Social Development of Latin America and the Caribbean, which took place in Lima in November 2015. The indicators and graphs presented here are generated from official data of fiscal statistics of the countries of the region compiled by the Economic Development Division and that are contained in CEPALSTAT.

Social investment is defined as the volume of resources spent on social policies. According to the Classification of Government Functions (CFG) consigned in the 2014 Manual of Public Finance Statistics of the International Monetary Fund, the following six functions are included:

  1. Social protection,
  2. education,
  3. health,
  4. housing and community amenities,
  5. recreation, culture and religion,
  6. environmental protection.

The institutional coverage use to report the information for all countries is central government. 

The new database includes information for 25 countries of the region over the 2000-2016 period. The Latin American countries included are: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Plurinational State of Bolivia and Uruguay. For the English-speaking Caribbean, data are presented from: Bahamas, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago

As new countries or data for new years are collected, these will be reflected in the indicators and graphs presented here.

For further information, please write to: